After reading Danielle’s post on ICTs enhancing creativity, this made me question – am I creative enough in my planning? Danielle questions whether ICTs are triggers of critical thinking or laziness. I have to admit, I am generally quite reliant on the internet when lesson planning but I consider my use of ICTs to be more towards the critical thinking end of the spectrum, as opposed to the laziness side of things.

From my perspective, ICTs are a great asset to the modern teacher as they contain a wealth of information that can provide a foundation for your lessons. Finding a resource on the internet does not mean this is set in stone and how it has to be implemented in your classroom. The beauty of it is that you can build on someone else’s idea to suit your context, especially when you have proof that it is effective. Likewise, it is only fair that we share our ideas to help others as well. As the saying goes “many hands make light work”. In a material world, all teachers would love to sit down and create our own lessons from scratch for every minute of class time but we all know this isn’t possible. As long as this is not disregarded all of the time and we ensure we are giving ideas just as much as we are taking them on board, I cannot see a problem. I would rather my pedagogy be effective, as opposed to a reflection of a badly thought out practices that I ran out of time to reconsider. We all know that in the life of a teacher, time is scarce.

To clarify, I definitely wouldn’t classify using ICTs for inspiration and building on these for our own lessons as “laziness”, I would prefer to call this proactive. In reply to Danielle’s question, I think there is a happy medium that can be reached between laziness and critical thinking. As long as the strategies, activities and resources we are using (ICT-based or otherwise) are inclusive of all learners in the class, does it really matter where our ideas come from?

– Kristie

