It wasn’t until after I finished one of courses Moodle books for this week (Your blog and Assignment 1) that I questioned my stance on blogging. Do I like it? When did I first find out about blogging?

blogging image

Something I haven’t shared with you all yet is that I have been a student blogger for USQ since I commenced my studies in 2013. At the moment, I am currently taking a short break but plan to continue this again next semester. It has been such a privilege to do this as I genuinely love being a USQ student and to represent this in written form is fulfilling. I have to admit though, there have been times where I have been tempted to email my blogging supervisor and say “I have nothing relevant to blog about, no one is going to even want to read my ramble so I’ll raincheck this one thanks”. But I didn’t. The reason I didn’t was because each time I reminded myself that I don’t need to write what others want to hear. It simply came down to writing my opinions, my views and my experiences. Not everyone is going to be able to relate to me and that’s okay. Reading this week’s relevant Moodle book in terms of blogging really cemented this for me as the message that shined through to me was ‘be honest, not fake’.

Without even realising it, my blogging experiences have followed the PKM framework through the process of ‘seeking, sensing and sharing’. Here’s how:

  • Seeking: Before I begin a new blog, I always go and check out the site our blogs are posted (found here) to have a read of others’ experiences and observe their clever way of positioning the reader in their shoes. I also do a Google search on my allocated topic.
  • Sensing: I collate any information I find interesting and relatable, and take notes of this to include it in my blog.
  • Sharing: I begin to write my blog and it is shared through the website!

How can this assist me after my degree and within my pedagogy? One overarching fact I have taken out of my pracs is that the teaching career grows upon reflection. We teach a lesson and go home at the end of the day reflecting on what worked well, what didn’t work so well and how we will take this on board for next time. And blogs are just that – reflecting on our good times, bad times, concerns, potential improvements and so much more. As teachers one day, we can either choose to create our own blog or we can simply take a read of the many teachers’ blogs out there which give us advice, make us laugh and reassure us we aren’t alone.

While I’m not sure when I first found out about blogging, I really enjoy doing it and it has become a large part of my personal growth, particularly as a pre-service teacher and uni student.

– Kristie

