Well… I did it! I have successfully completed setting up the accounts required within Week 1’s learning path and although I was a little apprehensive to begin with, I feel it was no where near as hard as I first imagined.

I’m not sure if this is just me but when I am asked to do/use something completely unknown to me, I freak out and decide that the whole idea is ‘unnecessary’ and that I should just be allowed to continue using what I know. I really believe that this too is a principle concern for students in today’s classrooms whether it be technology related or something completely different. On professional experience, I have had many students approach me with “but why can’t I just do it this way…?” or “I can’t do it because I do not know how”. I am hoping to ingrain my “of course you can do it!” response into views of my own potential with ICTs by thoroughly engaging with this course.

While I only experienced a small problem when it came to locating the icon to install the Diigo extension as part of this week’s learning path, it simply took a little bit of time, patience and browsing around before the problem was fixed. I have already learnt from this and have set myself a 3-step plan when approaching a problem: 1) stay calm, 2) look for a solution, 3) if 1 and 2 fail, ask for help!

I am really looking forward to EDC3100 this semester and I cannot wait to broaden my ICT horizons!

